Triple Crown Winners

The Triple Crown: Celebrating Thoroughbred Racing’s Greatest Achievement

Ready to transform your horse racing experience? Don’t miss out on our expert handicapping insights!

Sign up now for our FREE horse racing picks and elevate your betting game. With our in-depth analysis and winning track record, you’ll be on your way to
picking winners like a pro.

Don’t let another race pass you by – join our community today and get ahead of the pack! Click the link below to sign up and start receiving your free picks straight to your inbox. Happy betting! 🏇🏆👉Click here

The Timeless Allure of the Triple Crown: A Look at Thoroughbred Racing’s Greatest Achievement


The Triple Crown is the pinnacle of thoroughbred horse racing in the United States, a rare and prestigious achievement that has captivated the hearts and imaginations of racing fans for generations. This elusive title is awarded to a three-year-old thoroughbred that wins the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes in a single season. In this blog post, we’ll explore the history of the Triple Crown, its significance in the world of horse racing, and celebrate all 13 legendary horses who have claimed this remarkable honor.

History of the Triple Crown

The concept of the Triple Crown originated in England, where the term was first used in the mid-19th century to describe the three most prestigious races for three-year-old thoroughbreds: the 2,000 Guineas Stakes, the Epsom Derby, and the St. Leger Stakes. The idea quickly spread to the United States, and by the early 20th century, the term “Triple Crown” was being used to refer to the trio of prestigious American races: the Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, and Belmont Stakes.

Significance of the Triple Crown

The Triple Crown represents the ultimate test of a thoroughbred’s speed, stamina, and versatility. To win all three races, a horse must display exceptional talent and determination, overcoming a grueling schedule and fierce competition from the nation’s top contenders.

Claiming the Triple Crown is a rare feat, with only 13 horses achieving the honor in over a century of competition. This scarcity only adds to the mystique and allure of the title, making the Triple Crown a highly sought-after goal for owners, trainers, jockeys, and fans alike.

Legendary Triple Crown Winners

  1. Sir Barton (1919): The first-ever Triple Crown winner, Sir Barton set the stage for future champions with his groundbreaking achievement. Though he was not initially considered a top contender, Sir Barton’s impressive performances in all three races secured his place in history.
  2. Gallant Fox (1930): The second Triple Crown winner, Gallant Fox was known for his impressive speed and racing intelligence. His victories in the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes were both achieved in record time.
  3. Omaha (1935): Following in the footsteps of his sire, Gallant Fox, Omaha claimed the Triple Crown with a combination of speed, stamina, and courage. He remains the only Triple Crown winner to be buried at the famous Aksarben Racetrack in Omaha, Nebraska.
  4. War Admiral (1937): The son of the legendary Man o’ War, War Admiral displayed incredible talent and determination on his way to winning the Triple Crown. Despite suffering an injury in the Belmont Stakes, he still managed to secure a hard-fought victory.
  5. Whirlaway (1941): Known for his erratic running style and late bursts of speed, Whirlaway became a fan favorite during his Triple Crown campaign. His thrilling come-from-behind victories earned him the nickname “Mr. Longtail.”
  6. Count Fleet (1943): A dominant force on the track, Count Fleet won the Triple Crown with ease, securing victories in all three races by wide margins. His 25-length victory in the Belmont Stakes remains one of the largest margins in the race’s history.
  7. Assault (1946): Defying the odds as a horse with a limp, Assault proved that determination and heart could triumph over adversity. His Triple Crown victory made him an enduring symbol of perseverance.
  8. Citation (1948): With exceptional speed and stamina, Citation dominated the racing scene in 1948, winning 19 of his 20 starts that year. His Triple Crown victory was the culmination of an outstanding season and cemented his place as one of the all-time greats.
  9. Secretariat (1973): Known as “Big Red,” Secretariat is perhaps the most famous Triple Crown winner, breaking numerous records during his historic run. His 31-length victory in the Belmont Stakes remains one of the most iconic moments in horse racing history.
  10. Seattle Slew (1977): The only horse to win the Triple Crown with an undefeated record, Seattle Slew demonstrated exceptional talent and consistency throughout his career. His dominance on the track earned him the nickname “Slew the Great.”
  11. Affirmed (1978): In a thrilling rivalry with Alydar, Affirmed managed to secure victories in all three Triple Crown races, often by narrow margins. Their intense competition captivated fans and made Affirmed’s Triple Crown victory even more memorable.
  12. American Pharoah (2015): Ending a 37-year Triple Crown drought, American Pharoah captivated the nation with his thrilling victories in all three races. His triumphant run rekindled the public’s fascination with the sport and cemented his status as a modern-day racing legend.
  13. Justify (2018): The most recent Triple Crown winner, Justify, achieved the remarkable feat in only his sixth career start. With an imposing physical presence and exceptional talent, Justify’s Triple Crown victory solidified his place among the sport’s elite.


The Triple Crown is a testament to the enduring appeal of thoroughbred horse racing, as fans continue to marvel at the extraordinary feats of these equine athletes. The quest for the next Triple Crown winner adds an exciting element to each racing season, and the legacy of past champions serves as a constant reminder of the sport’s rich history and tradition.

Share this post with fellow horse racing enthusiasts and let’s celebrate the timeless allure of the Triple Crown together!

–> if these 13 Triple Crown winners were to race, on an even track, what would the order be? Leave me yours in the comments below!

Like this article?


Leave a comment